Etiquette in Africa

Africa covers about 11.7 million square miles, stretching from the northern to the southern hemisphere. The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and nearby archipelagoes. Home to more than billion people, there are 54 fully recognized sovereign states or countries (“countries”), 9 territories and two de facto independent states with limited or no recognition.